[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

NFC: House bill in the works 500 mill for non game work...

  Action Alert

April 1, 1999

Urgent Action Required

Action Alert (4/1/99)
Here Is What You Should Do Immediately!
Key Talking Points On H.R. 701 And S. 25



From now until April 11th is the best time to contact House and Senate
Budget Committee members and Leadership in as many ways as possible!
Schedule meetings with them when they are home for their congressional
break: March 27-April 11. Write them and call their environmental and
budget legislative aides in Washington. Let them know that CARA includes
permanent funding for state-level wildlife conservation that is important
to your state. Ask them to cosponsor CARA. If they will not cosponsor it,
encourage them to support it and work with CARA cosponsors when it comes
time for finding a budget offset. 

Even though CARA and other wildlife funding bills need to be reviewed and
approved by the House Resources Committee and the Senate Energy and
Natural Resources Committee, the issue of funding these conservation
programs under current budget constraints will be THE largest hurdle to
get over. Despite the fact that we are entering an era of budget
surpluses, Congress is still operating under previous budget agreements
that constrain them. We need to start working on the Budget Committee
members now and continue to work on them. 

Conservation has historically been low on the list of Congress' funding
priorities, taking a back seat to social programs and national defense
priorities. Members of the Budget committees and the Leadership have the
power to make the difference between this being a large hurdle or an
absolutely insurmountable one. There are already 15 cosponsors of CARA
and/or Resources 2000 that are either Budget Committee members or
Leadership. Below is a list of remaining members to focus on now. For
more information, see Contact Members of Congress .

Rep. Wally Herger (R-CA)
Rep. George P. Radanovich (R-CA) george.radanovich at mail_house.gov
Rep. Gary Miller (R-CA) 
Rep. Christopher Shays (R-CT) rep.shays at mail_house.gov
Rep. Dan Miller (R-FL) miller13 at mail_house.gov 
Rep. Jim Davis (D-FL)
Sen. Connie Mack (R-FL) connie at mack_senate.gov
Rep. Jim Nussle (R-IA) nussleia at mail_house.gov
Sen. Charles E. Grassley (R-IA) chuck_grassley at grassley_senate.gov
Sen. Larry Craig (R-ID) larry_craig at craig_senate.gov
Rep. J. Dennis Hastert (R-IL) dhastert at mail_house.gov
Sen. Richard Durbin (D-IL) dick at durbin_senate.gov 
Rep. Jim Ryun (R-KS)
Rep. Ernie Fletcher (R-KY)
Sen. Olympia J. Snowe (R-ME) olympia at snowe_senate.gov
Rep. Nick Smith (R-MI) repsmith at mail_house.gov 
Rep. Peter Hoekstra (R-MI) tellhoek at mail_house.gov
Rep. Joe Knollenberg (R-MI)
Rep. Lynn N. Rivers (D-MI)
Sen. Spencer Abraham (R-MI) michigan at abraham_senate.gov
Rep. Gil Gutknecht (R-MN) gil.gutknecht at mail_house.gov
Rep. David Minge (D-MN)
Sen. Rod Grams (R-MN) mail at grams_senate.gov
Rep. Bennie G. Thompson (D-MS) ms2nd at mail_house.gov
Rep. Eva M. Clayton (D-NC) eclayton1 at mail_house.gov
Rep. David E. Price (D-NC) david.price at mail_house.gov
Sen. Kent Conrad (D-ND) senator at conrad_senate.gov
Rep. John E. Sununu (R-NH) rep.sununu at mail_house.gov
Rep. Bob Franks (R-NJ) franksnj at mail_house.gov
Sen. Pete V. Domenici (R-NM) senator_domenici at domenici_senate.gov
Rep. John R. Kasich (R-OH) 
Rep. J.C. Watts (R-OK) rep.jcwatts at mail_house.gov
Sen. Don Nickles (R-OK) senator at nickles_senate.gov
Sen. Gordon Smith (R-OR) oregon at gsmith_senate.gov
Sen. Ron Wyden (D-OR) senator at widen_senate.gov
Rep. Joseph R. Pitts (R-PA) pitts.16 at mail_house.gov
Rep. Pat Toomey (R-PA) rep.toomey.PA15 at mail_house.gov
Rep. John M. Spratt, Jr. (D-SC) rep.spratt at mail_house.gov
Sen. Ernest F. Hollings (D-SC) senator at hollings_senate.gov
Sen. Tom Daschle (D-SD) tom_daschle at daschle_senate.gov
Rep. Van Hilleary (R-TN) van.hilleary at mail_house.gov
Rep. Bob Clement (D-TN) bob.clement at mail_house.gov
Sen. William Frist (R-TN) senator_frist at frist_senate.gov
Rep. William M. "Mac" Thornberry (R-TX)
Sen. Phil Gramm (R-TX) 
Rep. Richard Armey (R-TX) 
Rep. Tom DeLay (R-TX) thewhip at mail_house.gov
Rep. James P. Moran (D-VA) jim.moran at mail_house.gov
Sen. Slade Gorton (R-WA) senator_gorton at gorton_senate.gov 
Sen. Patty Murray (D-WA) senator_murray at murray_senate.gov
Rep. Paul Ryan (R-WI) 
Rep. Gerald D. Kleczka (D-WI) jerry4wi at mail_house.gov
Rep. Tammy Baldwin (D-WI) tammy.baldwin at mail_house.gov 
Sen. Russ Feingold (D-WI) russell_feingold at feingold_senate.gov



Contact your representatives and senators in as many ways as possible: 

Call them at (202) 224-3121. The switchboard operator will transfer you
to your senator or representativeís office. If you do not know who
represents you, just give the switchboard operator your zip code and
he/she will find out for you. When you reach your memberís office, ask to
speak with their natural resources/ environment legislative assistant.
Talking to the legislative assistant is ten times more effective than
leaving a message with the receptionist. 
Write or fax them (The Honorable ____(name)____, US House of
Representatives, Washington, DC 20515 or Th

Robert Rice
Help Preserve our Aquatic Heritage join the NFC
Check out our Exotic Removal Program and Breeders Program at our website
website  http://nativefish.interspeed.net/