[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]
Re: [Killietalk] Server Rejecting IP ?
Barry,
Perhaps it is some firewall setting; I just got a couple of private emails
from people who apparently got a msg similar to this:
>>Hi. This is the qmail-send program at outbound-mail-297.bluehost.com.
I'm afraid I wasn't able to deliver your message to the following addresses.
This is a permanent error; I've given up. Sorry it didn't work out.
<killietalk at actwin_com>:
72.5.31.95 does not like recipient.
Remote host said: 554 Service unavailable; Client host
[outbound-mail-323.bluehost.com] blocked using Barracuda Reputation;
http://bbl.barracudacentral.com/q.cgi?ip=67.222.55.4
Giving up on 72.5.31.95.
>>>end
Since many of us are usually receiving dynamic IP addresses from our larger
ISP's class A address pools; if so, all it takes is for one computer in the
"pool" to be a viral "SPAM relay" host, and if that IP gets blocked, then on
the next "IP renew" anyone one of us might get inadvertently blocked...or
sometimes a smaller range get's blocked if in the past that /8 or whatever
was "rented" to a previous SPAM host
Just suggesting, perhaps ask the host if they are blocking individual IP's;
smaller /8's (or whatever range), or entire class C address pools
Ken
--- Enclosed are the original headers of the message.
-----Original Message-----
From: Barry Cooper [mailto:barry_cooper at mac.com]
Sent: Wednesday, April 15, 2009 10:15 AM
To: ken_combs at sbcglobal.net; killifish discussion list
Subject: Re: [Killietalk] Server Rejecting IP ?
Ken wrote:
> I cannot post to killitalk, is this another method of
censorship/moderating
> on purpose (again)
>
> Or is this a automated thing with my IP being firewalled as a SPAM
offender?
>
>
>
> .and does it make a difference if msg's are sent to killietalk at aka_org or
> killietalk at actwin_com ?
>
>
>
> KC
>
> Join the AKA at http://www.aka.org/aka/modules/content/index.php?id=9.
> Archives are at http://sable.actwin.com/pipermail/killietalk/
> Modify your subscription at
http://www.actwin.com/mailman/listinfo.cgi/killietalk
>
You just posted to killietalk twice.
BC
--
Barry J. Cooper
Sweet Home, OR 97386
Join the AKA at http://www.aka.org/aka/modules/content/index.php?id=9.
Archives are at http://sable.actwin.com/pipermail/killietalk/
Modify your subscription at http://www.actwin.com/mailman/listinfo.cgi/killietalk