[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]
Re: Visibility [OT virus stuff]
The headers show it came through the killietalk list.
It looks more like a spam attempt than a virus. Can't
rule them out though, viruses are getting more
sophisticated. The sender is in a network block
belonging to American Flyers (QWEST) and used an open
SMTP relay in Brasil. Spammers use open relays all the
time.
Here's the relevant portion of the headers:
Received: from acme.actwin.com (acme.actwin.com
[140.239.226.140])by mailhub.actwin.com
(8.12.1/8.12.1) with ESMTP id g8PGKace001736 for
<killietalk at aka_org>; Wed, 25 Sep 2002 12:20:36 -0400
Received: from pop.brasilsite.com.br
([200.168.230.8])by acme.actwin.com (8.11.6/8.11.6)
with ESMTP id g8PGJJr00510 for <killietalk at aka_org>;
Wed, 25 Sep 2002 12:19:19 -0400 (EDT)
Received: from Fxy [65.112.133.147] by
pop.brasilsite.com.br (SMTPD32-6.06) id A25641BE025A;
Wed, 25 Sep 2002 13:20:38 -0300
- Ramon
--- Wright Huntley <jwwiii at pacbell_net> wrote:
[snip]
> 2. The list software (?) stripped the MIME and the
> virus, so it must have
> passed through the list filter, somehow. That one
> puzzles me. Did everyone
> on the list get a copy?
__________________________________________________
Do you Yahoo!?
New DSL Internet Access from SBC & Yahoo!
http://sbc.yahoo.com
---------------
See http://www.aka.org/AKA/subkillietalk.html to unsubscribe
Join the AKA at http://www.aka.org/AKA/Applic.htm