[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]
Re: HaHaHa virus?
I have in the past received messages from this source with an attachment
that Norton Antivirus reports to be a virus (i.e. Symantec NAV). I have
also received similar messages that have an html attachment. My guess,
although I haven't examined them closely, is that those html messages
contain a script, which could also propagate a virus. In my own case, I
have seen such messages posted to killietalk, but they don't make it
because they are filtered out. They come to me for "approval" but of course
don't receive it. To the best of my knowledge a hahaha message has never
got through on killietalk.
I have also received such messages privately. I assume that someone who has
my address and the killietalk address in their address book is infected
with this virus and is inadvertently sending it out. If you get a message
from hahaha I would not even open the message. If it contains a script, you
would be infected. Trash the messages without opening, and by the way, I
understand that Outlook has a preview pane that should also be turned off.
Barry
At 11:25 PM 2/2/01 -0500, you wrote:
>I'm continuing to receive the following from HaHaHa.....Snow White and the
>Seven Dwarfs..The Real Story.
>
>I presume this may be a virus. Anyone have any info on it. I didn't see
>anything specific to this one
>on Symantec.
>
>Kent
>
>---------------
>See http://www.aka.org/AKA/subkillietalk.html to unsubscribe
---------------
See http://www.aka.org/AKA/subkillietalk.html to unsubscribe
References:
- HaHaHa virus?
- From: "Kent Carpenter" <kcarpen1 at rochester_rr.com>