[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Re: Freshaddress.com spam

I got it too.  I assumed that someone spammed the group exactly the same way
BN did it back in 1998 (I think it was '98).  By sending to the "outgoing"
address for the list server.  You snipped the goodstuff out in your post. 
Here it is copied from mine:

Received: from mailhub.actwin.com [] by mail.a51web.net with
ESMTP (SMTPD32-6.06) id
                 A57828503B0; Sat, 06 Apr 2002 20:56:56 -0600
Received: from mailhub.actwin.com ([]) by mailhub.actwin.com
(8.12.1/8.12.1) with ESMTP id
                 g372oh9j013851 for <bob at a51web_net>; Sat, 6 Apr 2002
21:51:06 -0500
Message-ID:  <200204070251.g372oh9j013851 at mailhub_actwin.com>
Content-type: text/plain
Date: Sat, 06 Apr 2002 21:49:50 -0500
From: susan at freshaddress_com
Subject: Taking advantage of FreshAddress.com

Almost looks legitimate, doesn't it?  Although that doesn't explain the
"Dear bob@..." salutatioon.  Maybe they mined the archives for addresses.

Best regards,